Platform

Electrophysiology and psychophysiology of human sensory systems

The visual system

By use of several tools dedicated to the study of the human visual system, including a black chamber, high-performance eye-tracking systems (ISCAN LT-500® and SMART-EYE®), and instruments measuring the visual field and visual evoked potentials (Biosemi®), the activity of the visual system can be investigated at several levels, from low-level activities (including visual acuity and perception of light intensity and color) to ergonomic approaches to vision and visuo-motor processes.

 

Systeme Visuel

The auditory system

The Platform has an anechoic chamber for study of spatial properties of the auditory system. An audiometer (Grason-Stadler 1702®) produces pre-test audiograms of all test participants. Various auditory function measures are gathered using both psychophysical methods and recordings of auditory evoked potentials (Biosemi®).

 

Systeme Auditif

 

Somatosensitive system

Measures of thermal and tactile sensitivity are performed in a controlled environment within a high-performance climatic chamber. Skin thermal sensitivity is evaluated using a Thermotest (SENSLAB®). Event-related potentials, obtained using laser technology, and transcutaneous electrical stimulation, are also used for evaluation of the peripheral nervous system.

Normal and pathological cognitive aging

  • Clinical investigations


The CI2N possesses clinical skills for the evaluation of the cognitive performances of the elderly. Neuropsychological assessments are realized by qualified Neuropsychologists.

  • Electrophysiological investigations


Cérébral activities are recorded by the means of electroencephalography technics and are referenced to international norms.

 

Normal and pathological cognitive aging

Driving simulator

The driving simulator consists of the front portion of a car passenger cabin placed on a mobile platform with 4 + 2 levels of freedom (longitudinal, vertical, rolling, and pitching of the passenger cabin; and rolling and pitching of the driver’s seat.

 

Conduite automobile Simulee

 

The display unit precisely recreates a motorway in the form of synthesized images, simulating driving conditions in broad daylight, night, or in fog. Inside the simulator, thermal, hygrometric, acoustic and luminous environments can be activated. For example, the temperature can be controlled between 10 and 50°C.

 

The video image acquisition system includes two infra-red cameras (JMC-CCD 906), allowing recording of gestural and facial behavior as well as ocular movements (using Smart-Eye technology). A video screen “quadra” simultaneously provides two views of the driver, the road projected on the screens of the simulator, and the instantaneous electrophysiological readings. Physiological recordings from the driver can be examined online in the control room using Scan 4.3 technology (NeuroScan). The electrophysiological recordings include :

  • Electroencephalography
  • Electroocculography
  • Electromyography
  • Electrocardiography

La Plate-Forme

Electrophysiologie & Psychophysiologie des Systèmes Sensoriels Humains

Système Visuel

Grâce aux différents outils dédiés à l’étude du système visuel humain (Chambre Noire, Système de mesure des mouvements oculaires à haute performance, ISCAN LT-500 ®., Système de mesure du champ visuel, potentiels évoqués visuels, Biosemi ®), le fonctionnement du système visuel peut être investigué sous différents aspects allant de l’étude des processus de bas niveau (acuité visuelle, perception de l’intensité lumineuse, des couleurs…), jusqu’aux approches ergonomiques de la vision et des processus visuo-moteurs.

 

Systeme Visuel

Système Auditif

La plateforme possède une chambre sourde et anéchoique permettant notamment l’étude des propriétés spatiale du système auditif. Un audiogramme est préalablement établi pour tous les participants à l’aide d’un audiomètre (Grason – Stadler 1702 ®). Les différentes mesures peuvent être faîtes à la fois par des méthodes psychophysiques que par l’enregistrement de potentiels évoqués auditifs (Biosemi ®).

 

Systeme Auditif

Système Somatosensoriel

La sensibilité thermique cutanée peut-être évaluée à l’aide d’un thermotest (SENSLAB®). La technique des potentiels évoqués par stimulation LASER est également utilisée pour l’évaluation du système nerveux périphérique.

Vieillissement cognitif normal et pathologique

  • Investigations Cliniques


Le CI2N possède des compétences cliniques reconnues pour l'évaluation des performances cognitives des personnes âgées. Les bilans sont réalisés par des Neuropsychologues diplômés.

  • Investigations Electrophysiologiques


Les activités cérébrales sont mesurées par la technique de l'électroencéphalographie et sont rapportées à des normes internationales.

 

Vieillissement cognitif normal et pathologique

Conduite automobile Simulée

Le simulateur de conduite se présente sous la forme d’un habitacle automobile placé sur une plate-forme mobile à 4 + 2 degrés de liberté (mouvements longitudinal, vertical, roulis et tangage de l’habitacle et roulis et tangage du fauteuil), associée à une unité de visualisation interactive temps réel.

 

Conduite automobile Simulee

 

L’unité de visualisation reproduit dans de très bonnes conditions de vision un réseau routier ou autoroutier sous forme d’images de synthèse simulant les conditions diurnes, les conditions nocturnes ou les conditions de conduite dans le brouillard. Les ambiances thermique, hygrométrique, acoustique et lumineuse sont contrôlées à l’intérieur du simulateur. La température ambiante peut notamment y être régulée entre 10 et 50°C.

 

Le système d'acquisition d'images vidéo comprend deux caméras infra-rouge (caméra JMC - CCD 906), filmant les comportements gestuels et faciaux du conducteur, ainsi que ses mouvements oculaires (Smart-Eye ®). Un écran vidéo « quadra » permet de visualiser simultanément les deux vues du conducteur, la route projeté sur les écrans du simulateur, ainsi que les variables électrophysiologiques enregistrées en temps réel. Les enregistrements physiologiques du conducteur sont visualisés en temps réel à partir du poste de contrôle à l’aide du logiciel Scan 4.3 (NeuroScan®). Ces enregistrements électrophysiologiques comprennent :

  • électroencéphalogrammes
  • électro-oculogrammes
  • électromyogrammes
  • électrocardiogramme